The Mission Field Within Reach

Luke 12:12
For the Holy Spirit will teach you at that time what you should say.”


Written by: Shannon Swenson

As followers of Jesus we have the great privilege and calling to reach those people around us that don’t yet know Him. We are called and commissioned to do His work.

Sometimes I can get super comfortable in being a Christian and tend to get in what I call a “holy huddle.” I get caught in sharing life with people that already know Jesus. Now, that’s not all bad. But when we look at the community in which we live, we have the opportunity to reach out and share the Good News with people who are not Christians.

The mission field is within reach because all we have to do is walk out our front door and we will meet someone who doesn’t know Him. I love the fact that I do life with people that already know Jesus. But if I just stop there, am I really following Jesus?

When Jesus says, “go and make disciples” He is talking to you and me. The buck didn’t stop with Matthew, Mark, Luke, or John. The Bible says that one day, every knee will bow, and we have a part to play in that. For me, the person that invited me to church at Sun Valley wasn’t standing on the corner with a megaphone telling me about Jesus. She was simply loving like Jesus and knew I needed Him in my life. She simply offered me a subtle invitation to attend Sun Valley; It was nothing fancy, eloquent, or complicated.

We can easily overcomplicate it. We tend to do this paralysis by analysis thing where we think we don’t have the right words to say or aren’t qualified, and then we do nothing. The truth is we have the power of the Holy Spirit living inside us if we have already said yes to Jesus. I can trust God to be my power, advisor, leader, and Lord. That means I can also trust Him to give me the right words to say when the opportunity arises. So, the question is what am I going to do with that?

Jonah Devo 8.7 (1)Thought of the day: Are you stuck in the “holy huddle”? Can you think of one or two people in your life that don’t know Jesus? What’s stopping you from sharing Him with them? Who do you need to invite to attend a service at Sun Valley?

Prayer: God, thank You that You know what’s best for me and ultimately plan to use messy people like me to do Your mighty work. I pray You give me the opportunity to share Your Good News with someone today. Give me courage and wisdom. Holy Spirit, please give me the words to speak. In Jesus’ name, amen.